Continents – Fun Facts


How many continents are there?

There are 7 different continents. They are Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, South America.

What is a continent?

A continent is a very large area of land on Earth. In Great Britain and Ireland people often refer to the rest of Europe as ‘The Continent’ – this is because Britain and Ireland are separated from the rest of Europe by a strip of sea.

Which countries are in which continents?

See the table below which lists some of the countries in each continent.







N. America

S. America

Morocco S. Pole India Australia United Kingdom USA Brazil
Kenya China New Zealand France Canada Chile
S. Africa Saudi Arabia Fiji Italy Mexico Argentina
Egypt Turkey Papua New Guinea Greece Dominican Republic Peru
Madagascar Afghanistan Solomon Islands Spain Haiti Venezuela
Nigeria Thailand Hawaii Poland Costa Rica Ecuador
Ghana Philippines Guam Norway Panama Bolivia
Cameroon Japan Cook Islands Sweden Jamaica Columbia
Uganda Singapore Samoa Germany Barbados Paraguay
Somalia Malaysia Tonga Ireland Cuba Uraguay

Why are there no countries in Antarctica?

Antarctica is 98%ice and just 2% land. Nobody officially lives there but there are various scientific study stations which always have at least a few scientists in place. It gets about 40,000 tourist visitors a year as well.

Antarctica is the coldest place on Earth but is actually classed as a desert as it is very dry.


Print me A4 or US Letter

Back to the Continent Game—>

More United Nations theme activities—>

More outdoor activities—>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *